Close your eyes and open your mind, imagine there are still record stores and people who go there and talk about music. “Hey , you might enjoy this new band I found, They seem similar to Gojira or some of those more technical progressive thrash metal bands. They might have a bright future ! What do you think about this new album called “ Morgoth Tales?”

The band who released this album is VoiVod, they are celebrating their fortieth anniversary. “ Morgoth Tales” is a good introduction to the band’s discography or previous releases. Theses are re-recordings of older songs by the new lineup with two new songs . Though they began playing fast paced thrash metal like Exodus , Metallica , or Slayer and are often put in the thrash metal genre . They have more in common with bands like Discharge, Killing Joke Or PIL who they cover on the new album. Their sound is inspired by lesser known bands like Nektar and Van Der Graaf Generator . The highlights for me are “ Killing Technology “, “ Pre-Ignition “ , “ Fix My Heart” and their cover of PIL’s “ Home”. The title track is a new song that cleverly traces their history from beginning until now. The songs flow well together and the new lineup does a great job of revisiting the old songs . Definitely worth buying and highly recommended as a great introduction to the band .

My friend nods and smiles , he seems to appreciate my opinion , “ Thank you for telling me about this band . I might have to check out their previous albums after buying the newest one. I am feeling a sense of deja vu. This resembles a previous review.” “I had so much fun writing the first one and people enjoyed it, Why not do it again and recapture the magic.” My friend looks at me and says, “ You did good but not as good as this album .”